Skip to content

The single secret to beating your snooze button and actually waking up when you want to

December 27, 2011

You can get a lot more done in the morning. Scratch all of that about whether or not you’re a “morning person.” I’m not. And I still know that my most productive time is in the morning right after a quick (not too warm) shower and a cup of steaming hot coffee. There’s no question that I go through my morning at my job with much greater ease if it does not feel like the first part of my day. I like having been awake for a while before I go to a job that’s not so exciting. So the reasons for waking up early are abundant and they make perfect sense to me. Except when they don’t.

The problem is with getting past the 5 am logic which only makes sense when we’re inebriated with melatonin.

As soon as I hear the sound of your alarm clock, my groggy logic-ator (yes, that’s scientific) begins working overdrive to produce a highly potent argument. I can shut down the most airtight plan for your morning with just one small dose of this stuff. I think we all have this problem.

But have you ever noticed what happens when you wake up late for work?

You spring up out of bed faster than a guy shot from a human cannon out of a burning circus ring full of man-eating pythons (a little dramatic but you get the point).

We only want to wake up when there is something to lose.

This may seem pessimistic, but even when I have the noblest of reasons such as breakfast with a beautiful young lady (my girlfriend – back off), I still find it hard to actually want to get up.

But anytime that I fear that something bad is going to happen if I don’t get up it seems relatively easy (and that’s a big relatively) to wake up and at least get to the shower. It’s probably something to do with adrenaline or something. Even the Bible gives my science-esque reasoning some clout.

A little sleep, a little slumber, A little folding of the hands to rest, So shall your poverty come like a prowler, And your need like an armed man.” – Proverbs 24:33-34 (NKJV)

 I don’t know why it works this way, but this is just the way I’ve noticed it works (let me know in the comments if I’m wrong).

Remember what you had to lose the night before

Because there was clearly a reason for setting your air-raid siren of an alarm clock the night before. The only other possible explanation is masochism  (And yes: you morning people fit in this category).

Do I really want things to stay the same way they are now? My prayer life, my job and my car could all use an upgrade. This is what I think about. This is the hustle. I’m motivated by hope, and I realize that sleep will steal that away from me if I allow it to.

Jon Acuff wrote a great post about this on his blog and he covers it in his book too.

What is keeping you from your hope? Please, write it in the comments if you’re feeling gutsy.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Helen permalink

    Ky.. thanks. This is exactly what I needed to read today. A change of perspective … helps me stay committed to the things I don’t want to have stolen away.

Leave a Reply

